• RCS Ottawa

What is the Commonwealth?

The Commonwealth of Nations, formerly the British Commonwealth of Nations, is a voluntary association of fifty-four sovereign states from every continent, covering a quarter of the world’s population. It’s objective is to promote international understanding and world peace through consultation and co-operation. All members are equal and free to follow their own policies while subscribing to a set of common ideals. Canada has been a member of the Commonwealth since 1931. The first Secretary-General of the Commonwealth was Dr. Arnold Smith, a Canadian.

Extracted from the Commonwealth Kit & Teacher’s Guide (2011.)

Courtesy of the Royal Commonwealth Society Ottawa.


RCS Ottawa

Basil Crozier - Chair


© 2020 By Royal Commonwealth Society Ottawa  Charity# 119128916RR0001

established 1968