• RCS Ottawa

The Ocean Conference

The Commonwealth includes most of the world’s small island developing states as well as many other coastal nations who depend on the seas. Forty-five of our 52 members are ocean states and 24 are small island developing states (SIDS) - countries like Fiji, Seychelles, Barbados and Tonga.

The governments and people of these countries rely on the marine environment for economic growth, livelihoods and sustenance. However, threats ranging from climate change, overexploitation, inequity in the sharing of resource wealth, and a lack of economic resilience put their future at risk.

The Ocean Conference


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

In honour of the passing of HRH The Duke of Edinburgh on Friday, April 16, 2021, the Royal Commonwealth Society, Mainland BC, produced a special video. We encourage all to view this excellent video a

The Royal Commonwealth Society of Ottawa would like to offer our best wishes to Her Majesty The Queen on the occasion of her 95th birthday. We celebrate her life and reign: from a young girl who did